Alabama Bodily Injury

Understanding how Alabama bodily injury works will help you understand how you will get your medical care covered for your injuries. All states have requirements for the type of insurance coverage a driver must have to drive.

In Alabama drivers are required to only carry Liability, which is separated into Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability. See below for more explanation of how this works.

Injured By An Another Driver?

An Attorney Can Help, Ask One Here...

(no charge, no obligation)

Bodily Injury Liability

Alabama bodily injury rules mean you will seek medical coverage from the at fault drivers Bodily Injury Liability coverage. Because Alabama does not require PIP coverage you may not have selected PIP insurance. Your own company can tell you if you have PIP coverage. If you do not, your injuries will be paid for by the insurance company of the driver at fault in the accident, through their bodily injury liability coverage.

If you are at fault in the accident, your bodily injury liability will not cover these injuries, you will either need to open a PIP claim, if you chose this coverage, or you will need to use your health insurance.

Your coverage pays for serious and permanent injury or death to others when you cause a crash involving your automobile. Your insurance company will pay for injuries to others, up to the limits of your policy and provide legal representation for you if you get sued.

Before calling your company, look over at this page, Car Accident Claim - 10 Essential Claim Tips to help you have the best outcome with your claim.

Property Damage Liability

This liability covers you if your car damages someone else's property. This means damage to their car, or their property, such as crashing into someone's fence, or if you crash into their home. Like Bodily Injury Liability, Property Damage Liability coverage will provide legal protection to you if you are sued after the accident.

At Fault State

Alabama is a Fault State. This means that your insurance company and the company for the other driver will pay damages for medical claims, wage loss and other expenses based on the degree of fault.

However, Alabama uses Pure Contributory Negligence rules, which means that an injured party cannot recover any damages if the individual is even one percent at fault.

Determining who is at fault after a car accident is complicated and cannot be sorted out online. Your insurance company will help you with this.

Alabama Statute of Limitations

The Statute of Limitations means that you must file a lawsuit or close or settle your case within your state time limits. The time clock starts on the day of the car accident.

Injury: 2 years

Property Damage: 6 years

If you need to file a lawsuit for your car accident compensation, you must do so BEFORE this statue runs out. The statute begins the date of your accident.

To learn more about your State's insurance rules and regulations:

Alabama State Website for Insurance Questions

Michelle was just in a car accident. 3/28/2013

I will be writing about my experience in real time, read along, or check in now and again. I will be posting about my pain treatments, and you can send questions about your own accident at any time for me to include.

Click here