Delaware Bodily Injury

Understanding how Delaware bodily injury works will help you understand how you will get your medical care covered for your injuries. All states have requirements for the type of car insurance you are required to purchase in order to drive. In Delaware, drivers are required to purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage, and Liability, which is separated into Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability.

Injured In An Accident?

FREE Evaluation of your claim...

Personal Injury Protection - (PIP)

Whether you are responsible for the accident or not, your own insurance company will pay for the medical expenses and loss of wages for you and your passengers. To understand in more detail how PIP works, return to this page, Understanding How PIP works- getting your medical care paid for.

After a car accident in Delaware it is very important that you call your own insurance company to report the accident, even if you know the other driver was at fault.

Before calling your company, look over at this page, Car Accident Claim - 10 Essential Claim Tips to help you have the best outcome with your claim.

Bodily Injury Liability

Delaware bodily injury liability coverage pays for serious and permanent injury or death to others when you cause a crash involving your automobile. Your insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits of your policy and provide legal representation for you if you get sued.

Property Damage Liability

This liability covers you if your car damages someone else's property. This means damage to their car, or their property, such as crashing into someone's fence, or if you crash into their home. Like Bodily Injury Liability, Property Damage Liability coverage will provide legal protection to you if you are sued after the accident.

Who Was At Fault

Delaware is a Fault State. This means that before either insurance company pays for your medical bills, the insurance companies will want to determine who was at fault in the accident. This means that your insurance company and the company for the other driver will pay damages for medical claims, wage loss and other expenses based on the degree of fault for both drivers.

After a car accident in Delaware it is very important that you call your own insurance company to report the accident, even if you know the other driver was at fault.

However, Delaware follows a 51% bar rule, which means an injured party cannot recover for damages if the person is 51% or more at fault, but can recover damages if the individual is 50% or less at fault. Recovery is reduced by degree of fault.

Determining who is at fault after a car accident is complicated and cannot be sorted out online. Your insurance company will help you with this.

Delaware Statute of Limitations

The Statute of Limitations means that you must file a lawsuit or close or settle your case within your state time limits. The time clock starts on the day of the car accident.

Injury: 3 years

Property Damage: 2 years

To learn more about your State's insurance rules and regulations:

Delaware State Website for Insurance Questions

Michelle was just in a car accident. 3/28/2013

I will be writing about my experience in real time, read along, or check in now and again. I will be posting about my pain treatments, and you can send questions about your own accident at any time for me to include.

Click here