Understanding how Illinois bodily injury works will help you understand how you will get your medical care covered for your injuries. All states have requirements for the type of car insurance you are required to purchase in order to drive. In Illinois, you are required to carry Liability, which is divided into Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability,and Underinsured motorist coverage.
Illinois bodily injury rules mean you will seek medical coverage from the at fault drivers Bodily Injury Liability coverage. Because Illinois does not require PIP coverage you may not have selected PIP insurance. Your own company can tell you if you have PIP coverage.
If you do not, your injuries will be paid for by the insurance company of the driver at fault in the accident, through their bodily injury liability coverage.
If you are at fault in the accident, your bodily injury liability will not cover these injuries, you will either need to open a PIP claim, if you chose this coverage, or you will need to use your health insurance.
Your coverage pays for serious and permanent injury or death to others when you cause a crash involving your automobile. Your insurance company will pay for injuries to others, up to the limits of your policy and provide legal representation for you if you get sued.To best understand how to have your car accident injuries paid for, call your own insurance company, even if you are not at fault. Your own insurance company can help you sort out how to proceed with this car accident injury.
Before calling your company, look over at this page, Car Accident Claim - 10 Essential Claim Tips to help you have the best outcome with your claim.
Underinsured/Uninsured motorist coverage is coverage you are required to have if you are a Illinois driver. This coverage will cover medical bills and other expenses, including wage loss, if you are involved in an accident with a driver who is not insured, or whose insurance coverage is not high enough to cover your medical bills.
However, Illinois follows a 51% bar rule, which means an injured party cannot recover for damages if the person is 51% or more at fault, but can recover damages if the individual is 50% or less at fault. Recovery is reduced by degree of fault.
Determining who is at fault after a car accident is complicated and cannot be sorted out online. Your insurance company will help you with this.
The Statute of Limitations means that you must file a lawsuit or close or settle your case within your state time limits. The time clock starts on the day of the car accident.
Injury: 2 years
Property Damage: 5 years
To learn more about your State's insurance rules and regulations:
I will be writing about my experience in real time, read along, or check in now and again. I will be posting about my pain treatments, and you can send questions about your own accident at any time for me to include.Click here