New Hampshire Bodily Injury

Understanding how New Hampshire bodily injury works will help you understand how you will get your medical care covered for your injuries. Almost all states have requirements for the type of car insurance you are required to purchase in order to drive.

However, in New Hampshire, you are NOT required to carry Liability insurance. This means you may be involved in an accident with an uninsured motorist, and if you elect to not carry insurance your self, you may be at risk for being suit if you cause an accident .

Injured In An Accident?

FREE Evaluation of your claim...

Bodily Injury Liability

If the driver who hit you was insured, you will be able to seek medical coverage from the at fault drivers Bodily Injury Liability coverage. If you are found at fault in your accident, your liability coverage will not cover your own medical expenses, it's only for those you injure.

Your coverage pays for serious and permanent injury or death to others when you cause a crash involving your automobile. Your insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits of your policy and provide legal representation for you if you get sued.

If you are not insured, you will still remain responsible, but you will have to cover the costs of the accident out of your pocket.

Property Damage Liability

This liability covers you if your car damages someone else's property. This means damage to their car, or their property, such as crashing into someone's fence, or if you crash into their home. Like Bodily Injury Liability, Property Damage Liability coverage will provide legal protection to you if you are sued after the accident.

At Fault State

New Hampshire is a Fault State. This means that your insurance company and the company for the other driver will pay damages for medical claims, wage loss and other expenses based on the degree of fault.

However, New Hampshire follows a 51% bar rule, which means an injured party cannot recover for damages if the person is 51% or more at fault, but can recover damages if the individual is 50% or less at fault. Recovery is reduced by degree of fault.

Determining who is at fault after a car accident is complicated and cannot be sorted out online. Your insurance company will help you with this.

New Hampshire Statute of Limitations

The Statute of Limitations means that you must file a lawsuit or close or settle your case within your state time limits. The time clock starts on the day of the car accident.

Injury: 3 years

Property Damage: 3 years

To learn more about your State's insurance rules and regulations:

New Hampshire State Website for Insurance Questions

Michelle was just in a car accident. 3/28/2013

I will be writing about my experience in real time, read along, or check in now and again. I will be posting about my pain treatments, and you can send questions about your own accident at any time for me to include.

Click here