Understanding how Virginia bodily injury works will help you understand how you will get your medical care covered for your injuries. All states have requirements for the type of car insurance you are required to purchase in order to drive. However, Virginia is one of the most unique.
In Virginia you are able to purchase an Uninsured Motor Vehicle waiver, for $500.00, allowing you to drive without any insurance, at your own risk. This waiver is not insurance, and provides you no protection from being sued if you cause an accident. It simply is a fee designed to clarify to the Commonwealth that you are choosing not to carry insurance.
Virginia does require all drivers who do not elect to purchase the UMV waiver, to carry Liability insurance, which is separated into Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability.
Your coverage pays for serious and permanent injury or death to others when you cause a crash involving your automobile. Your insurance company will pay for injuries up to the limits of your policy and provide legal representation for you if you get sued.
However, Virginia uses Pure Contributory Negligence rules, which means that an injured party cannot recover any damages if the individual is even one percent at fault.
Determining who is at fault after a car accident is complicated and cannot be sorted out online. Your insurance company will help you with this.
The Statute of Limitations means that you must file a lawsuit or close or settle your case within your state time limits. The time clock starts on the day of the car accident.
Injury: 2 years
Property Damage: 5 years
To learn more about your State's insurance rules and regulations:
I will be writing about my experience in real time, read along, or check in now and again. I will be posting about my pain treatments, and you can send questions about your own accident at any time for me to include.Click here