Wisconsin bodily injury is the most unique of any State insurance requirements.You are not required to purchase auto insurance in order to drive a car here. You are required to maintain proof of financial responsibility.
Wisconsin gives you the option of placing a $60,000.00 cash deposit with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation in case you cause an accident. Wisconsin also allows drivers to post a bond, instead of carrying insurance.
Obviously this type of cash deposit is for a minority of drivers. All other drivers are required to maintain liability car insurance while driving.
If you do not post the cash deposit or the cash bond, then Wisconsin does require you to maintain Liability coverage, which is divided into Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage Liability.
After a car accident in Wisconsin it is very important that you call your own insurance company to report the accident, even if you know the other driver was at fault.
However, Wisconsin follows a 51% bar rule, which means an injured party cannot recover for damages if the person is 51% or more at fault, but can recover damages if the individual is 50% or less at fault. Recovery is reduced by degree of fault.
Determining who is at fault after a car accident is complicated and cannot be sorted out online. Your insurance company will help you with this.
The Statute of Limitations means that you must file a lawsuit or close or settle your case within your state time limits. The time clock starts on the day of the car accident.
Injury: 3 years
Property Damage: 6 years
To learn more about your State's insurance rules and regulations:
I will be writing about my experience in real time, read along, or check in now and again. I will be posting about my pain treatments, and you can send questions about your own accident at any time for me to include.Click here